Child Sexual Abuse Laws in Alexandria Virginia

The sexual abuse of children is hard to digest and can be difficult to talk about. According to the experts, it has been observed that 1 in 10 children are sexually abused by the age of 18 years. If 10% children got a severe injury from the equipment in a playground, will it not be possible for adults to resolve the issue? Such incidents occur because communities prefer to live in the sphere of fear that it may ruin their reputation in the social circle if they discuss or raise their voice against crime. But unfortunately, all this cannot change the reality. They have to admit that the child’s sexual abuse is a major crime which cannot be neglected at any cause. It is crucial to take a step against it to abolish its severe impact on the overall personality of a child. For this, it is necessary for parents to get themselves familiar with the child sexual abuse laws in Alexandria Virginia to punish the offender of the serious crime.

Definition of Child Sexual Abuse

Child sexual abuse means sexuality of an adult with a minor or sexuality between two minors when one forcefully exerts over the other. On the other hands, child sexual abuse laws in Alexandria Virginia also includes non-contact means to abuse others. For instance, exposition of one’s genitals to attract or show sexual intention, pornography, getting pleasure from looking at the naked body of others, and sexual conversation via writing, phone calls and internet usage. It is a fact which cannot be denied that majority of children are affected by this crime everywhere in this world. It has great potential to cross its limitation in terms of ethnic, social and religious boundaries. Generally, the offender is an adult, but it can be a child too. In many cases, sexual offenders are those on whom parents and caretaker trust that is why it is crucial for parents and caretakers to know about the prevention and signs relevant to sexual abuse. Moreover, parents own awareness about the matter help to guide children about the issue and make them confident enough to share about this crime without hesitation.

Child Sexual Abuse Penalties in Alexandria

Child sexual abuse laws in Alexandria Virginia has two essential laws related to child sexual abuse. Carnal knowledge is one of the two laws in which offender is involved in sexual intercourse with a child around 13 to 15 years old, and the offender is above 18 years old.  Child sexual abuse laws in Alexandria Virginia considers it in class 4 felony which is punishable in form of 2 to 10 years imprisonment, with a fine of $100,000. Moreover, a misdemeanor is a class 1 category. Here if the offender is involved in the sexual intercourse with a child of 15 to 17 years old, the defendant will face punishment up to 1 year in imprisonment, with a fine of $2,500.

Contact Child Sexual Abuse Lawyers

If any child becomes the victim of sexual abuse, it is necessary for the parents to contact or take the advice of the lawyer to make the path easy for the child to get the justice and sending the offender behind the bars. The sexual abuse lawyers are fully aware of child sexual abuse laws in Alexandria Virginia and tackle the case skilfully to bring back the life of victim on the track.